San Diego Century- 105 mile ride
105 miles, 6000+' climbing.
My 4th century.
Saturday May 30th, I rode the San Diego Century. I started early so I could reach Ramona before it was too hot. Last year was super hot. I left later and was miserable at the finish. This year was much better.
I went in with multiple and some conflicting goals. I love Centuries(100 milers) because I never raced them. I took my time, enjoyed the views and spent lots of time relaxing at the SAG stops. I would see friends, snack and rest. I needed to unlearn all of that because there is no stopping in Ironman.
Goal 1- no more than 2 SAG stops and only for business- bathroom and water refills.
NO socializing.
NO naps.
Goal 2- Total SAG stop =12 min. My coach mentioned that when she did this ride that her total SAG time was 12 min for the whole ride. I liked the solid number so I was going for that too.
Goal 3- Finish time. Part of me wanted to finish between 6-7 hours, knowing that is not at all smart. I wanted to see how fast I could do this. I have my heart on a 6 hour bike finish at Ironman. This ride is only 105 miles, Ironman is 112. I need to be pretty darn close to my Ironman time, I thought. I also know that is completely unrealistic and not where I am right now. But I want to try.
Goal 4- Pacing myself during the ride. My coach said to ride in heart rate Zone 3 which is slow. That is the zone I need to ride during Ironman so I have enough in the tank to complete the run. Goals 3 and 4 right now are two very conflicting goals.
![]() |
| 2000 calories for the ride |
Goal 5- NO bonking. Last year I bonked at mile 85. I figured the whole ride was downhill after Ramona. It is but it is not. Lots of rollers. I was expecting flat and at 85 saw some hills and lost it. I stopped and called my spouse and cried. This year I would not bonk. I know what to expect. I needed to consume enough calories and fluids the whole ride. I needed calories every 30 minutes. Sometimes on long rides I forget and wonder why I am fussy.
As I was riding and trying to keep my heart rate in Zone 3, I would catch up with a group and draft. It was great. If they were slower I'd pass and catch up with the next group. They might be a little fast and my heart rate would jump above 4. I feel good but know I will bonk later if I continue. I really want to hang on. Maybe once we get in the flats my heart rate will go down. So I will continue to draft. Maybe my heart rate zones are wrong? They are not. I better drop off. I went back and forth like this wrestling with my rational mind (stay at zone 3 heart rate) and my ego (do NOT get dropped, ever! AND get that finish time). I rode and talked with some really nice people along the way and found they were faster than I was when I looked down at my zones again. Damn. It's still early in the ride. I cannot afford to jack up my heart rate now. Back and forth most of the ride. I did cap my zone at 4.2 on the climbs. That was fine.
I had to pee and my water was almost out. And there is a SAG station- nice. I figured I would stop around 30-40 miles in and again in Ramona which was 65 miles in. My first SAG stop - pee, fill water bottles, say a quick hello to my riding friend, Julie and get out. 6 minutes. Not bad. I think I could do this 12 minute thing.
Second SAG stop- Ramona. I was looking forward to that one. I finished the climb and it was getting toasty in Ramona. Conveniently, I had to pee again and fill my water. All a good sign of remaining well hydrated during the ride. I see a lot of people and really want to visit. Nope. I wait in line for the porta potty. I fill my water only to realize I was really thirsty and finished half of my newly filled water bottle before leaving. I had to stand in line again to refill my water. While waiting I grabbed a 1/4 PBJ- love those!! and fruit leather. I see my friend and say hello feeling totally antisocial. 14 minutes. Seriously??!!!! that was long. So total SAG time 20 minutes. How on earth does my coach do 12 minutes? I did not lollygag but I did wait in some lines. I'll try again at the next Century I ride.
I'm ready to finish this ride and know the remainder of the ride is a cumulative downhill so I can make up some time. I'm on track for a 7 hour finish. I'd prefer a 6-something finish but it's not in the cards today. I am also reminded that I should not be trying for a racing finish time. Well 7 hours is NOT my goal race time but my goodness anything slower is just sad, right?
I met some fun people on my ride so I did get to socialize a bit. In the early part of the ride I ran into a triathlete I met when we almost raced Ironman 70.3 Tahoe. He recognized me and we chatted a bit on the bike. I met a friend of my bike buddy, Julie. She recognized me too. I really have no idea how anyone recognizes someone in bike gear. I later found out after being totally perplexed about how her friend knew me that Julie pointed me out to her on the ride. She has done a few Ironmans and also has issues with her knee. Really nice woman. On the way I had been leapfrogging this older couple. Part of me was frustrated because they were significantly older than I am and why on earth are we the same pace? I must be REALLY really slow. I talk with them at a stop light and find out they are very seasoned triathletes. They said "We did a few Ironman races way back in the 90's." I learned about how much less expensive and less complicated ironman was 20+ years ago. I guess I will never assume. The nice older couple kick butt!
I reach mile 85 and feel just fine. No bonking. I'm not even tired. I am ready, however, to be done soon. I find some more people to draft and enjoy the scenery. I did not feel any need to stop again. I have enough nutrition to finish. I passed up the last few SAGs. Goals 1 and 5 achieved.
Mile 95- During the ride as I was wrestling with goals 3 and 4 I started having some self doubt about my ability to finish Ironman. If I cannot finish this ride in 6 hours at zone 3 how can I expect anything else? If I take too long on the bike and something happens to my knee on the run how can I finish? I need a LOT of time leftover for the run in case something happens. It came and went but really stuck at miles 95-98. I was getting tired and really going there. I tried to remind myself that this is a hilly ride- way more hills than Arizona. I am faster on the flats- a lot faster. I chose AZ for a reason. I still have 5 1/2 more months to train. I also realized maybe I need to see how realistic this goal is? What if I my ride in AZ takes 7 hours? I calculated finish times and even if I walk the marathon, I can still finish. Still self doubt. I'm not letting go of that 6 hour bike finish. I'm going to need to work through this with my coach after some sleep. I let go temporarily to finish the ride. Approaching mile 100- if I can do 100 miles in under 7 hours I will be satisfied.
Mile 100- 6:57. Okay. That is a PR for 100 miles. Accept it. The finish will not be exactly 7hours but a little over. I can live with that-- for now.
![]() |
My biking buddy, Julie Saadus!![]() |





Comments
Post a Comment