Let the Ironman training begin!


 
A day or two before official training began, I received an email from my coach asking about my schedule, what I can and cannot do, etc so she can prepare this week’s training plan. The plan was to start training Feb 7. I had been waiting for this day, counting it down like a kid. My initial response to her mail was that of fear and joy and a quick smack of reality. I reply  to her “Oh crap? We’re actually doing this?”

For months and months I had been waiting for this day. I was eager to start training but at the same time felt like I still had more to do before training. I spent the last 4 mos religiously boxing 4-7 days a week building my upper body, core, confidence, coordination and discipline. I also returned to my race weight. Do I need to build my body more before training? Did I do enough? This is my one and only chance to do Ironman and I need to do everything I can.

Yes I am ready.

I eagerly await to see my Training Peaks schedule full for the week.  I open it up like a kid on xmas and there it is: Workout #1 - 2 hour bike ride- hill repeats up and down San Elijo Rd and Twin Oaks Rd. And boxing and an optional run. I like it! I jumped around and showed my co-workers who must think I am a total weirdo. The following two days get more intense and long. I love it! By day 3, I was running with speed work slipped in, swimming and riding. I am thrilled. I am also feeling like these first few days were "shock and awe." I jokingly facebooked my coach and told her to "Bring It!"

After a week, I was happy to be training. I have 100% trust in my coach and am committed to following the training plan 95-100%. I am realizing however that the level I am doing now seems equivalent to what I was doing at peak training for a half Ironman. The reality of the sheer magnitude of Ironman training sets in. Ironman training is no longer an abstract idea, it's here and it's real. This is far bigger than me. I know there is a lot more later on…A LOT more… volume, intensity, just more. Other athletes who worked with Julie confirmed this. Thanks Alexis, Lisa and Chris for the cheering and dose of reality!

 I think a lot about my experience in Graduate school. It was an intensive program. The first day, I had a similar reaction,  I thought there was no way I could fill my brain with that much knowledge and skill in 4 semesters. I knew it would only get more challenging. At that time I took it day by day, followed my schedule 100% and spent my energy not wavering from my schedule and tasks. If I stuck to that and did not fixate on the end I was fine. That was the part I could control and if I did would see results. I am tapping into my inner OCD control freak and using the same skills here. If I think about what I really have to do physically and mentally by race day I can be overwhelmed and doubt myself.  Focusing only on the day at hand and the goal of completing whatever Julie puts on my plan is manageable. The hardest part so far is not the physical aspects but scheduling and balancing my time. I know it will become a habit in a few more weeks. For now I have to consciously write down what time I wake up, what time I leave for the pool, run or bike, what time I shower, what time I drive to work, etc.  I wrap it around the kids' schedules as much as possible. I make sure each bag is packed and anything I think I may forget at 4 or 5am, I write down. Two workouts on a weekday is a bit more complicated to schedule especially since I work fulltime. I am trying to do as much as I can early in the morning. I am just not motivated after work and I want to see my family. I can give up a little sleep as long as I remain very structured. This is the hard part but I have managed to do it the last 2 weeks without any problems. Mentally I feel strong. I surprisingly feel stronger than I ever have. I guess having some marathons and 70.3s under my belt helps. I do not want to make the same mistakes mentally- I've made a lot and really self sabotaged.

I refuse to get in my own way. 

I did waver last week during one pool session. I suspect it was poor nutrition. I'm still working on that part. It is hard to add enough of the necessary calories. I went back for the next swim well stocked up with food and fluids 2 days later and rocked it. That reminds me to eat and always keep in mind there will be absolutely awful training days and there will be good ones.

It is not a reflection of my success or failure.

It just is.

I trust the process. I will not get in my own way.

Comments

Popular posts from this blog

Ironman Arizona... the Sequel -Race Report

Ironman Arizona 2015

Listening to My Body